The Duke Of Burgundy - Original Soundtrack OST - Black Vinyl LP


Save: $25.46

Sold Out

Availability: Sold out


This Limited Edition Vinyl is brought to you by Waxwork Records.

Cat’s Eyes Return With Soundtrack To Peter Strickland’s New Film ‘The Duke Of Burgundy’

Musical duo Cat’s Eyes have written and recorded the soundtrack for the esteemed British director Peter Strickland’s new film ‘The Duke Of Burgundy’, set for release on RAF and Caroline Records. A statement from Faris Badwan from Cat’s Eyes on the making of the soundtrack: “Like many other musicians, Rachel and I have always had aspirations towards working on film soundtracks - so we were happy when Peter trusted us to write the score for his incredible film. Working on the film, the narrative was already there and we had to write music tailored towards it. Long before any filming, we read the script and began writing music based on individual characters and themes. Once they had started filming, the director began sending us references. In some cases the scenes were filmed to temp music and the director wanted us to create the same atmosphere with our pieces.

In one of the major scenes the director had been using the Mozart Requiem as temp music and everyone involved had become attached to it. He decided towards the end of the process that he wanted us to replace it, and Rachel ended up writing and arranging a full choral requiem the evening before the deadline. We were writing for the director and the film rather than ourselves and in some ways that was sort of liberating. We had specific scenes to follow and subtle movements to draw attention to… it was very different to making a normal album. In the process, we must have watched the film hundreds of times…and we still like it. We were lucky in that the script was really great and there were some extremely memorable characters to work with."

Cat's Eyes are Rachel Zeffira and Faris Badwan. The pair formed in 2010 and played their first ever show during afternoon mass at St Peter’s Basilica at the Vatican. They released their self-titled debut album the following year to widespread acclaim. In 2012 Italian-Canadian soprano Zeffira released her critically praised solo album 'The Deserters' on her and Badwan's own label RAF Records. Peter Strickland is one of the UK's most exciting new film-makers. His 2009 Hungarian-¬language feature debut ‘Katalin Varga’ won a Silver Bear for outstanding artistic contribution at the Berlin Film Festival, and last year's ‘Berberian Sound Studio’ starring Toby Jones won three British Independent Film Awards including Best Director for Strickland.

Track List:

  1. Forest Intro
  2. Opening Credit Song- The Duke of Burgundy
  3. Moth
  4. Door No.1
  5. Pavane
  6. Dr. Schuller
  7. Lamplight
  8. Door No. 2
  9. Carpenter Arrival
  10. Reflection
  11. Door No.3
  12. Black Madonna
  13. Silkworm
  14. Evelyn's Birthday
  15. Evelyn's Birthday (Flute version)
  16. Black Madonna (Cor Anglais version)
  17. Night Crickets
  18. Requiem For The Duke of Burgundy
  19. Hautbois
  20. Coat of Arms

Product Details

  • Waxwork Records
  • Caroline International

Delivery & Returns

How long will it take to arrive?

Please check the stock availability notice on your item when placing your order. This item is: Sold out

Please remember to add postal time (2-3 working days) to obtain a complete estimate of delivery to your door.

How will I know it has been sent

You will receive an email to confirm when your item has been sent.

You can also check the status of your order and individual items by accessing your account details and following the prompts.

Please allow 10 working days from the shipping date of your order before notifying us of any late deliveries.

It may be advisable to check with your neighbors to see if your delivery has been left with them, check any places it could be left such as: garage, porch, or behind garbage cans if it was too big to fit through your mailbox. Contact your local post office to see if the item has been returned to the depot as undelivered and awaiting collection.

If I'm not completely happy with my item?

Please see our returns policy.

Customer Reviews

There are currently no reviews.

This Product

The Duke Of Burgundy - Original Soundtrack OST - Black Vinyl LP

Select image

The Duke Of Burgundy - Original Soundtrack OST - Black Vinyl LP
Back to top